Delaware Electrical Licensing
& Continuing Education Requirements

Electrical Licensing

Continuing Education

You may apply for a Master/Limited Electrician license by Exam or by Reciprocity.

  1. Apply by examination if you do not hold a current electrical license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • If you have completed a registered/approved apprenticeship program, you only need a copy of your Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship.
    • If you have not completed a registered/approved Apprenticeship program, submit a Verification of Employment form from each employer. This form must document a minimum of six years of full-time experience under a Master Electrician only AND an official transcript showing two years of technical training.
  2. Apply by reciprocity if you hold a current license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • You must also submit proof of experience if:

      • You are currently licensed in Arkansas, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, or West Virginia – a Verification of Employment form proving and describing at least five years after licensure.

      • You are currently licensed in Michigan or Wyoming, you do not need to submit proof of experience.

      • You are not currently licensed in any state listed above, your state’s licensure standards must be evaluated by the Board. You must submit a copy of or links to your state’s laws and regulations.

In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:

  • Proof of general liability insurance of at least $300,000. Your name must be on the insurance document you submit even if your employer holds the policy.
    • If your employer carries general liability insurance of at least $300,000.00 covering its employees, the proof you submit must show that you are covered by your employer’s policy. (See Sections 6.2 and 6.3 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.)
    • You may take the exam before submitting proof of insurance, but you must submit it after you pass. Your license cannot be issued until the Board office receives proof of insurance.
  • State/Jurisdiction Licensure Verification sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have ever held a license.
    • If the license issued by another jurisdiction was a license for an electrical business that encompassed all its employees, instead of your own license as an individual, it is not necessary to obtain a license verification for that business.

If you do not qualify as a Master Electrician but have knowledge in an area(s) of specialty, you may apply for a Master Electrician Special license in one of these specialty areas:

  • Electric Signs
  • Elevators
  • HVAC
  • Primary Distribution Systems
  • Pools

You may apply for a Master/Limited Electrician license by Exam or by Reciprocity.

  1. Apply by examination if you do not hold a current electrical license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • If you have completed a registered/approved apprenticeship program, you only need a copy of your Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship.
    • If you have not completed a registered/approved Apprenticeship program, submit a Verification of Employment form from each employer. This form must document a minimum of six years of full-time experience in the area(s) of specialty under Master Electrician or Master Electrician Special supervision.
  2. Apply by reciprocity if you hold a current license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • You must also submit proof of experience if:

      • You are currently licensed in Arkansas, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, or West Virginia – a Verification of Employment form proving and describing at least five years after licensure.

      • You are currently licensed in Michigan or Wyoming, you do not need to submit proof of experience.

      • You are not currently licensed in any state listed above, your state’s licensure standards must be evaluated by the Board. You must submit a copy of or links to your state’s laws and regulations.

In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:

  • Proof of general liability insurance of at least $300,000. Your name must be on the insurance document you submit even if your employer holds the policy.
    • If your employer carries general liability insurance of at least $300,000.00 covering its employees, the proof you submit must show that you are covered by your employer’s policy. (See Sections 6.2 and 6.3 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.)
    • You may take the exam before submitting proof of insurance, but you must submit it after you pass. Your license cannot be issued until the Board office receives proof of insurance.
  • State/Jurisdiction Licensure Verification sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have ever held a license.
    • If the license issued by another jurisdiction was a license for an electrical business that encompassed all its employees, instead of your own license as an individual, it is not necessary to obtain a license verification for that business.

You may apply for a Master/Limited Electrician license by Exam or by Reciprocity.

  1. Apply by examination if you do not hold a current electrical license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • If you have completed a registered/approved apprenticeship program, you only need a copy of your Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship.
    • If you have not completed a registered/approved Apprenticeship program, submit a Verification of Employment form from each employer. This form must document a minimum of three years full-time experience under Master or Limited Electrician supervisor.
  2. Apply by reciprocity if you hold a current license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • You must also submit proof of experience if:

      • You are currently licensed in Arkansas, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, or West Virginia – a Verification of Employment form proving and describing at least five years after licensure.

      • You are currently licensed in Michigan or Wyoming, you do not need to submit proof of experience.

      • You are not currently licensed in any state listed above, your state’s licensure standards must be evaluated by the Board. You must submit a copy of or links to your state’s laws and regulations.

In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:

  • Proof of general liability insurance of at least $300,000. Your name must be on the insurance document you submit even if your employer holds the policy.
    • If your employer carries general liability insurance of at least $300,000.00 covering its employees, the proof you submit must show that you are covered by your employer’s policy. (See Sections 6.2 and 6.3 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.)
    • You may take the exam before submitting proof of insurance, but you must submit it after you pass. Your license cannot be issued until the Board office receives proof of insurance.
  • State/Jurisdiction Licensure Verification sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have ever held a license.
    • If the license issued by another jurisdiction was a license for an electrical business that encompassed all its employees, instead of your own license as an individual, it is not necessary to obtain a license verification for that business.

If you do not qualify as a Limited Electrician but have knowledge in an area(s) of specialty, you may apply for a Limited Electrician Special license in one of these specialty areas:

  • HVAC
  • Pools

You may apply for a Master/Limited Electrician license by Exam or by Reciprocity.

  1. Apply by examination if you do not hold a current electrical license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • If you have completed a registered/approved apprenticeship program, you only need a copy of your Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship.
    • If you have not completed a registered/approved Apprenticeship program, submit a Verification of Employment form from each employer. This form must document a minimum of three years of full-time experience in the area(s) of specialty under Master Electrician or Master/Limited Electrician Special.
  2. Apply by reciprocity if you hold a current license of the same type for which you are now applying that was issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.
    • You must also submit proof of experience if:

      • You are currently licensed in Arkansas, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, or West Virginia – a Verification of Employment form proving and describing at least five years after licensure.

      • You are currently licensed in Michigan or Wyoming, you do not need to submit proof of experience.

      • You are not currently licensed in any state listed above, your state’s licensure standards must be evaluated by the Board. You must submit a copy of or links to your state’s laws and regulations.

In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:

  • Proof of general liability insurance of at least $300,000. Your name must be on the insurance document you submit even if your employer holds the policy.
    • If your employer carries general liability insurance of at least $300,000.00 covering its employees, the proof you submit must show that you are covered by your employer’s policy. (See Sections 6.2 and 6.3 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.)
    • You may take the exam before submitting proof of insurance, but you must submit it after you pass. Your license cannot be issued until the Board office receives proof of insurance.
  • State/Jurisdiction Licensure Verification sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have ever held a license.
    • If the license issued by another jurisdiction was a license for an electrical business that encompassed all its employees, instead of your own license as an individual, it is not necessary to obtain a license verification for that business.

To be licensed as a Residential Electrician in Delaware, you must:

  • have over 4,000 hours of full-time experience or have completed a residential apprentice program approved by the board AND
  • pass the residential examination.

There are several ways that you can apply for your Journeyman Electrician license.

  1. Apply for licensure by certificate if you hold a certificate of completion issued by the Department of Labor or approved apprentice program in Delaware or other state, a U.S. territory or the District of Columbia.
    • If you qualify for licensure by certificate, you do not have to pass a journeyperson examination.
  2. Apply by examination if you:
    • do not hold a current journeyperson license issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia, AND
    • do not have a certificate of completion issued by a Department of Labor or approved apprentice program in another state, U.S. territory, or the District of Columbia.
    • If you apply by examination, you must pass the journeyperson examination.
  3. Apply by Reciprocity if you:
    • hold a current journeyperson license issued by another state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia.

Note: In Pennsylvania, electrical licenses are not issued by a state board. If the only current license(s) you hold was issued by a Pennsylvania municipality or other jurisdiction, you must apply by examination.

Apply for an Apprentice Electrician license if you are currently enrolled in an apprenticeship program approved by the Delaware Board or by the Department of Labor of any jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory of the District of Columbia), but you have not yet completed the program’s educational and/or experience requirements.

Electrician licenses expire on June 30 of even years.

The amount of Continuing Education that you are required to complete depends on your license type and when your license was issued during the full licensure period.

  1. If you are licensed as a Master, Master Special, Limited or Limited Special Electrician and you have been licensed:
    • less than one year – you are not required to do CE
    • more than one year, but less than two years – you are required to complete 5 hours of approved CE
  2. If you are licensed as a Journeyman, Residential or Apprentice Electrician and you have been licensed:
    • less than one year – you are not required to do CE
    • more than one year, but less than two years – you are required to complete 2 hours of approved CE
  3. For full licensure renewal periods between July 1 and June 30 even-numbered years (2020-2022, etc.):
    • Active Master, Master Special, Limited and Limited Special Electrician’s must complete 10 hours of approved CE. Beginning with your second renewal, 5 of the 10 CE hours must be related to the National Electric Code.
    • Active Journeypersons, Residential and Apprentice Electrician’s must complete 5 hours of approved CE.

Apprentice training (proof of enrollment in a Board approved apprenticeship program) will count toward CE hours during the licensure period it was completed.

For questions regarding your state’s CE requirements or licensing, please contact your state board directly.

(302) 744-4500 | Delaware Board Website

DELAWARE Continuing Education Courses

Scroll to Top