Utah Electrical Licensing
& Continuing Education Requirements

Electrical Licensing

Continuing Education

To obtain a contractor license:

  • You must already have completed a 30-hour pre-license course from Associated Builders and Contractors Inc (ABC), Utah Home Builders Association (UHBA), or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC).
  • You must have obtained a general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total that covers and where DOPL is listed as certificate holder.
  • If you are a corporation, LLC, LLP, or partnership, have you registered your business with the Utah Division of Corporations.
  • You must have obtained an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service.
  • If you have employees, you MUST:
    • Have obtained a certificate of workers compensation insurance with DOPL as certificate holder.
    • Have obtained a state withholding tax registration from the Utah State Tax Commission.
    • Have obtained an unemployment registration from the Utah Department of Workforce Services.
  • Experience Requirement. You must meet one of the following:
    • Two years (4,000 hours) of paid work experience in the construction industry; or
    • Qualifier on current or previous Utah Contractor License for at least 2 years; or
    • Construction Management Degree (2 or 4 year Degree); or
    • Licensed Utah Professional Engineer; or
    • Passed NASCLA Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, or
    • One (1) year of licensed experience working in another State, District or Territory of the U.S. in the similar scope of practice sought in Utah if the license is currently active and in good standing.
  • Exam Requirement. You must meet one of the following:
    • Utah Business & Law Exam; or
    • One (1) year of licensed experience working in another State, District or Territory of the U.S. in the similar scope of practice sought in Utah if the license is currently active and in good standing; or
    • Qualifier on Utah Contractor License prior to May 9, 2017

To obtain a contractor license:

  • You must already have completed a 30-hour pre-license course from Associated Builders and Contractors Inc (ABC), Utah Home Builders Association (UHBA), or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC).
  • You must have obtained a general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total that covers and where DOPL is listed as certificate holder.
  • If you are a corporation, LLC, LLP, or partnership, have you registered your business with the Utah Division of Corporations.
  • You must have obtained an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service.
  • If you have employees, you MUST:
    • Have obtained a certificate of workers compensation insurance with DOPL as certificate holder.
    • Have obtained a state withholding tax registration from the Utah State Tax Commission.
    • Have obtained an unemployment registration from the Utah Department of Workforce Services.
  • Experience Requirement. You must meet one of the following:
    • Two years (4,000 hours) of paid work experience in the construction industry; or
    • Qualifier on current or previous Utah Contractor License for at least 2 years; or
    • Construction Management Degree (2 or 4 year Degree); or
    • Licensed Utah Professional Engineer; or
    • Passed NASCLA Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, or
    • One (1) year of licensed experience working in another State, District or Territory of the U.S. in the similar scope of practice sought in Utah if the license is currently active and in good standing.
  • Exam Requirement. You must meet one of the following:
    • Utah Business & Law Exam; or
    • One (1) year of licensed experience working in another State, District or Territory of the U.S. in the similar scope of practice sought in Utah if the license is currently active and in good standing; or
    • Qualifier on Utah Contractor License prior to May 9, 2017

Each applicant for licensure as a master electrician shall:

  • Complete the qualified licensed experience as a Journeyman Electrician, which must be at least:
    • 8,000 hours; or
    • 4,000 hours if a graduate of electrical trade school with a 2 year AAS degree; or
    • 2,000 hours if holds a B.S degree in electrical engineering from a school that is EAC/ABET accredited
  • Pass the Utah Electrical Licensing Theory, Code and Practical
    Examinations

Each applicant for licensure as a journeyman electrician shall:

  • Complete the qualified experience, which must be at least:
    • 4 yrs full-time (8,000 hours) experience as a licensed apprentice while enrolled in an approved training program that includes at least 576 classroom hours; or
    • 8 yrs of full-time (16,000 hours) experience as a licensed apprentice outside a training program.
  • Pass the Theory, Code, and Practical sections of the Utah Journeyman Electrician Exam

Each applicant for licensure as a residential master electrician shall:

  • Complete the qualified licensed experience as a Residential Journeyman Electrician (RJE), which must be at least 4,000 hours as a RJE.
  • Pass the Utah Electrical Licensing Theory, Code and Practical
    Examinations

Each applicant for licensure as a journeyman electrician shall:

  • Complete the qualified experience, which must be at least:
    • 2 yrs full-time (4,000 hours) experience as a licensed apprentice while enrolled in an approved training program; or
    • 4 yrs of full-time (8,000 hours) experience as a licensed apprentice outside a training program.
  • Pass the Theory, Code, and Practical sections of the Utah Journeyman Electrician Exam

Contractor Licenses expire on November 30 of odd-numbered years.

Electrician Licenses expire November 30 of even-numbered years.

A Contractor Licensee is obligated to complete six hours of continuing education each licensing period. Three hours must be “core” education and the remaining three may be “core” or “professional” related. All courses must be approved by DOPL to be acceptable.

 

Electricians are required to complete 16 hours of state-approved continuing education during each two-year license period. Twelve hours must be core education, while the remaining four hours may be professional or core education.

New: Of the 12 Core hours, a minimum of 4 hours must cover the National Fire Protection Association 70E (NFPA 70E)

For questions regarding your state’s CE requirements or licensing, please contact your state board directly. 

(801) 530-6628 | Utah Board Website

UTAH Continuing Education Courses

For Instructor-Led, Online Versions of these Courses, CLICK HERE.

4-Hr Grounding & Bonding 2020

(Self-Paced)                                                      $85

8-Hr 2020 Significant Changes

(Self-Paced)                                                    $125

4-Hr NFPA 70E

(Self-Paced)                                                       $85

Scroll to Top