West Virginia
Electrical Licensing & Continuing Education Requirements

Electrical Licensing

Continuing Education

To obtain a contractor license:

  1. Contact West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board/Division of Labor and provide scope of work to verify classification and required exam.
  2. Take required exam.
    • The person completing the exam(s) must be an officer, member, owner, or a full-time employee. Payroll records
      are required as proof for a full-time employee.
  3. Obtain a Business Registration Tax Number.
  4. Register with Secretary of State.
  5. Provide proof of:
    • Workers Compensation
    • Unemployment Compensation
  6. A wage bond status affidavit is required.
  7. All applicants must take the West Virginia Business & Law Examination.

You must show at least 10,000 hours or 5 years (60 months) of actual, hands-on electrical work experience.

  • Work experience MUST include a mixture of residential, commercial and industrial experience.
  • All work experience shall consist of above ground structural wiring in accordance with the National Electric Code.
  • Please note: Vocational training cannot be counted towards the required work experience.

To qualify to take the Journeyman exam, you must meet at least ONE of the THREE requirements below:

  1. You must show at least 8,000 hours or 4 years (48 months) of actual, hands-on electrical work experience. All work experience shall consist of above ground structural wiring in accordance with the National Electric Code.
    OR
  2. COMPLETED an apprenticeship program approved by the US Dept of Labor.
    OR
  3. COMPLETED a West Virginia vocational course of not less than 1080 hours which has been approved by the West Virginia Dept of Education.
  • must be at least 18 years old

Specialty Electrician Licenses are issued in one of the following specialties:

  • HVAC;
  • Electric Sign;
  • Single Family Dwelling;
  • Elevator;
  • Low Voltage

You must show at least 4,000 hours or 2 years (24 months) of actual, hands-on electrical work experience in the specialty area for which you will be testing.

You may apply 1 year (12 months) of approved educational courses toward your work experience.

Contractor Licenses expire one year from the date on which it is issued.

All other licenses expire on June 30th each year.

There are NO state continuing education requirements for any electrical licenses in West Virginia. Please check with your county or local municipality for any requirements they may have.

For questions regarding your state’s CE requirements or licensing, please contact your state board directly.

State Fire Marshal: (304) 558-2191 | Website

Dept of Labor: (304) 558-7890 | Website

WEST VIRGINIA Continuing Education Courses

For Instructor-Led, Online Versions of these Courses, CLICK HERE

4-Hr Grounding & Bonding 2017

(Self-Paced)                                                      $85

8-Hr Understanding the 2017 NEC

(Self-Paced)                                                    $125

Scroll to Top